Football – The San Diego Chargers

The San Diego Chargers are from San Diego, CA and play their football match-ups in the AFC Western Division. Curiously, the San Diego Chargers really started as the Los Angeles Chargers in 1960. Here is a short history of this mainstream football crew.

As one of the first individuals from the AFL, the Chargers played their first year in Los Angeles before for all time moving to San Diego. They went to the AFC West via the AFL-NFL consolidation in 1970. San Diego plays its football match-ups in Qualcomm Stadium. They have been playing at this arena since 1968 and the arena has been the host to 3 diverse Super Bowls throughout this time. The group is at present hoping to have another arena worked to supplant the maturing Qualcomm Stadium.

Barron Hilton, who was likewise the author of Hilton Hotels, initially claimed the group. He kept on being the proprietor until offering the group to current proprietor, Alex Spanos. During the 1960s the Chargers guarded line became know as the “fearsome foursome”. They were driven by enormous Ernie Ladd and would regularly rule football match-ups.

It wasn’t until 1979 and the development of QB Dan Fouts, that the Chargers started to encounter achievement. Driving the group to its first season finisher compartment in quite a while, the Chargers lost in the end of the season games that year to the Houston Oilers. That began a line of 4 back to back long stretches of going to the end of the season games, however the group would never get to the Super Bowl. สินค้าไอที 2021

During this run, the Chargers played in quite possibly the most paramount additional time games in NFL Playoff history. In the 1982 game against the Miami Dolphins, the group hustled off to a 24-0 lead, just to lose it by the third quarter. San Diego recuperated and in the end dominated the match in additional time 41-38.

It wasn’t until 1995 that the San Diego Chargers got through to the Super Bowl. It has been right up ’til the present time their lone Super Bowl appearance. The group won the AFC West and proceeded to agitate the Miami Dolphins and Pittsburgh Steelers to acquire a spot in the title game. Shockingly they needed to confront Steve Young and the San Francisco 49ers, losing the game 49-26.

Since that season the Chargers have had a lot of issues, with just 2 winning seasons and one season finisher billet, that coming in 2004. Right now, Marty Shottenheimer presently mentors the group.

The San Diego Chargers additionally have ostensibly the most striking garbs of some other football crew. They are known for their unique lightning bolt on their protective caps and down the sides of their uniform jeans.

The San Diego Chargers have had a few players accepted into the football Hall of Fame including:

Spear Alworth Dan Fouts Sid Gillman Ron Mix Charlie Joiner Kellen Winslow

Other prominent previous Chargers include:

Paul Lowe Keith Lincoln Ernie Ladd (Later he became Ernie “the feline” Ladd in proficient wrestling) Walt Sweeney John Hadl Chuck Allen Don Coryell Speedy Duncan Wes Chandler Bobby Ross Doug Flutie Natrone Means Jack Kemp Junior Seau.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *